Story of My Life

We should go ahead and just relabel this series an ‘About the Author’. The Liebster Award has long left me behind, nodding on to other writers much more prolific (and timely) than I.

For anyone who’s still following:

1) Thanks! I appreciate you.

2) We know by now that my career is my first priority. Always. For that reason, I’ve knowingly put some parts of my life on hold. The debate about the pros and cons of that is for another post, but I ask that you don’t give up on me! Writing sits always at the back of my mind, constantly brewing. One day sharing my thoughts and ideas with the world will be my job.

One day.

Right now, everything I do is to make me a better storyteller. That often means prioritizing my time – to work, learn, and have some semblance of a life so I don’t turn into a zombie. Which leads me to the next question in our series:

Liebster Award Question #3: What are your favorite pastimes besides blogging?

My life can easily get consumed by The Work*, so I put a lot of effort into keeping up with the things that are important to me. This blog is one of them. But besides that-

  • I like to read the news every morning. It makes me feel accomplished. And I think it’s important to stay informed about what’s going on in the world – what’s real – when you make fake shit for a living. (Also good for striking up conversations at the coffee shop.)
  • I enjoy getting my fitness on. Working long and odd hours can do a lot to your body; I feel better and healthier when I can exercise regularly. It’s a most effective stress-reliever.
  • Though it continues to go down in priority as I learn and grow in my career, I make a point of playing my cello at least once a week. There was a point in time where I was pursuing a career as a musician…to play movie music. Funny, innit?

If I’m not working, chances are I’m doing one of these. As much as #ilovemyjob, it feels wonderful to have things in my life that are not directly related to The Biz. Maintaining a work-life balance is the key to staying successful AND sane, in this dreamer’s humble opinion.

__________

*That reference is what you think it is.

Leave a Reply

